h1

Public Transportation

April 25, 2007

Okay, so usually it’s nice not having to drive and all that. But I just had the worst public transportation day ever. I caught the 1 train down to Penn Station, hopped on the NJ Transit to Princeton, and everything seemed fine. The train, however, was moving a bit slowly. All of a sudden, they announced that due to a police investigation they were skipping Princeton Junction and heading straight to Trenton. Someone committed suicide by jumping in front of a train.

So, people were complaining and I even heard a woman call the NJ Transit complaints line on her cell phone, which I thought was completely tasteless and unfeeling. In any case, I made it to Princeton after three hours on the train. I wouldn’t complain, but on my way home, there was a police investigation at 59th Street. So it’s midnight and I’m waiting on the 1 train, and waiting, and waiting some more. Finally, they announce a suspension of all 1, 2, and 3 trains. I walk over to the A train but I accidentally get on the E train. Now I have to transfer to the 6 train to go uptown and take the M96 bus. As I get out of the station, I see the M96 pull away. Obviously I could have taken a cab, but I refused to pay more money to get home. So I wait for the bus, catch the M104 uptown and finally arrived back home at 1:15am. Tonight, I seriously hate public transportation.

Update: An apparent suicide at Princeton Junction. Accidental death in NYC on the subway. Jeez…

Leave a comment